Awards finalists announced for NDDU

No-Dig Down Under (NDDU) 2022 conference and exhibitionThe awards finalists for the No-Dig Down Under (NDDU) 2022 conference and exhibition have now been announced, with the event also set to feature presentations from a host of industry experts.

NDDU is the southern hemisphere’s only large-scale conference and exhibition dedicated to trenchless technology. Trenchless technology is important for installing new services, as well as rehabilitating and maintaining existing pipelines and infrastructure, without having to dig multiple trenches, disturbing traffic, business and residential locations.

With major utilities located underground and requiring ongoing upkeep and extension, No-Dig Down Under is a crucial event for local government representatives and those involved in planning decisions for major infrastructure projects.

The achievements of the Australian trenchless industry will also be recognised, with the nominees being revealed for five awards (for the full list of awards and nominees, see below)

The No-Dig Down Under conference will kick off with a keynote presentation from Jonathan Farrell, Program Manager at Urban Utilities, looking at current projects being undertaken by the company.

His presentation will be followed by a panel session, where Jonathan will be joined by Ben Hayes, Sales Manager at Herrenknecht AG, Tom Sangster, Managing Director of Downley Consultants, and Craig Vandaelle, Vice President of Michels Trenchless Preconstruction.

NDDU is set to be held at the International Convention Centre Sydney from 14-17 June.

To get your free ticket to the NDDU exhibition, register for the conference, or find out more information about the event, click here.



ASTT Award Finalists

Rehabilitation Project of the Year

Recognises innovation, advancements in technology, environmental benefits and occupational health and safety benefits in rehabilitation projects utilising trenchless technology.


Renewal of the Amarina Culvert, Mooloolaba – Interflow
Lihir Island (PNG) Tailings Pipeline Rehabilitation Project – Spiecapag Australia T/A HDI Lucas
Ann St to Bartleys Hill Trunk Main Relining – Urban Utilities and RAEDLINGER

New Installation Project of the Year

Recognises innovation, advancements in technology, environmental benefits and occupational health and safety benefits in new installation projects using trenchless technology.


Donnybrook Link Branch Sewer Stage 2 – Edge Underground
St Mary’s Bay Area Water Quality Improvement Project – McConnell Dowell
REMS 1B Pipeline Connecting Bomaderry WWTP and Nowra WWTPs – UEA, UGL, Shoalhaven Water

New Technology: Machine, Tool, Material, System or Technique

Should demonstrate the practical development of trenchless systems or equipment that results in benefits such as improved economy, accuracy, speed of drive or replacement, ability to overcome difficult installations, or similar.


TeraTrak R1 – Digital Control Australia
Jet pump system in Slurry MTBMs: XXL drive lengths in small diameters – Herrenknecht AG
B-Tech Connections – ISC Services

Menno Henneveld ASTT Person of the Year

Recognises an individual who has made major and sustained contributions to the trenchless industry in any area of activity within the industry. The award will identify a contribution over and above the call of duty to grow, develop and promote the use of trenchless technology across Australasia and indeed around the world.


David Tuner – Maxibor
Jerry Sunarho – Sydney Water
Lance Horlyck – SASTTI Joint Venture

Young Person of the Year

Recognises the important role that younger members of the Australasian trenchless community play in the growth of the industry. The recipient will be someone who is engaged with the industry and the promotion of trenchless technology, and has significantly contributed to the industry over the past two years.


Ash Hamer – Yarra Valley Water
Dominic Preest – McConnell Dowell Constructors



Related stories:

Interesting? Share this article