Latest News

Entries open for AustStab 2015 Annual Awards of Excellence

Entries open for AustStab 2015 Annual Awards of Excellence

Entries open for AustStab 2015 Annual Awards of ExcellenceAustStab’s Council, with the support of Caterpillar, presents the fourth annual awards night, which promotes and recognises excellence in the stabilisation industry in Australia.

Nominees may be elected in five categories at the 2015 awards:

Work Health & Safety

The Work Health & Safety section covers three areas: best workplace heath and safety management system, the best solution to an identified workplace health and safety issue, and the best workplace health and safety practices in a small business.

Excellence in Research or Education

Recognising outstanding achievements in pavement stabilisation and research, this annual award may include a grant of $500 due to the potential importance to pavement sustainability and research in Australia winners may bring.

Innovation in Excellence in Sustainability

Nominees for this category must demonstrate economic, social and environment sustainability in pavement stabilisation and recycling and outline a brief overview of sustainable alternatives and the benefits and costs associated.

Recycling in Local Government

The Recycling in Local Government category recognises how Local Government has adopted innovative recycling practices and pursues initiatives that result sustainable management of the environment. Evidence included needs to demonstrate that the project is involved in efforts to apply sustainable development and promote the best practices in the development, conservation and preservation of the environment. Examples include: recycling construction materials, household waste and reducing greenhouse gas emissions through the alternate use of recycled materials.

Young Stabiliser of the Year

Aged 35 years and younger, the Young Stabiliser of the Year award applies to a stabilising professional who has shown a significant achievement in pavement stabilising, a demonstrated understanding of the role and purpose of stabilisation in the construction industry, and have proficiency in the use of communication skills in stabilisation projects.

Overall Winner of the Year

If deemed appropriate by the judges, an Overall Winner of the Year will be awarded. To be eligible, the winner must demonstrate excellence in stabilisation. Only annual Award Winners will automatically be eligible for the Overall Winner of the Year Award in the year of their win.

The award winner may be nominated by AustStab to compete in the 2015 Engineers Australia Awards of Excellence.

Submissions require the following inclusions:

In 1000 words or less, the applicant must provide an overview of the initiative, including:

  • The initiative name as it should appear on the award
  • The name of the entrant
  • Key initiative staff
  • The objectives of the initiative
  • A description of the operating environment or context and how that affects the initiative
  • Any specific challenges that were encountered in the implementation of the initiative
  • A five-slide PowerPoint presentation must be submitted for display at the awards ceremony covering:
  • The title of the initiative and the title of the submitting organisation
  • A description of the initiative undertaken
  • Key points of interest about the initiative
  • Evidence of success
  • Supporting data for the application
  • Evidence of the initiative in action, including in .PDF format, as relevant:
  • Images that represent the entry in JPG, PNG or GIF format
  • Supporting evidence of success stories or: audit data, cost analyses, customer experience survey results, documentation you have designed or anything that will help the judges to understand the impact of your work
  • Limit: Five A4 pages of submission

Entry to the AustStab 2015 Annual Awards of Excellence is made through an online submission at the AustStab website at

Entry to the awards is open to Australian private and public organisations. Entrants do not need to be members of the Association to be eligible, must be accredited contractors, or be in the process of achieving accreditation in accordance with the AustStab ARRB Accreditation Scheme.

Nominations close 8 June, and judging will be completed 22 June.

Finalists will be invited to the awards gala dinner to be hosted at the Yarra Valley.

Leave a Reply

Send this to a friend