Winners announced for AfPA 2021 WA State Industry Awards

Peter Damen, AfPA Executive Director for WA and SA, opened the gala dinner event.
Peter Damen, AfPA Executive Director for WA and SA, opened the gala dinner event.

The Australian flexible Pavement Association (AfPA) celebrated the 7th year of its State Industry Awards in Western Australia at a gala dinner on August 13, where this year’s winning projects were announced.

The Awards celebrate outstanding projects delivered by AfPA members with either an overall project value greater than $10 million or less than $10 million that demonstrate excellence and outstanding quality outcomes, excellence and quality outcomes achieved for the client, delivered improvements in design, processes, systems, software and/or products utilised.

The winning projects are also delivered through positive interaction with the client and/or the community and on-site team to ensure on time and on budget delivery of the project/outcome. The winning projects are selected from those with notable and demonstrated benefits for the client/community, with a referee to endorse the outcomes addressed as part of the criteria.

Downer was announced the winner of AfPA’s 2021 WA State Industry Awards for Outstanding Project less than $10 million, for its delivery of the High Street Upgrade at Fremantle.

MainRoads Western Australia was crowned the winner of the Outstanding Project greater than $10 million Award for the delivery of Broome Cape Leveque Road Project, providing access through the Dampier Peninsula to Aboriginal communities.

SAMI Bitumen Technologies was awarded the Innovation Award for its SAMIBond 007 product.

BGC Asphalt took home the the Safety Initiative Award for its Automated paperless docketing function.

Tony Tufilli from Asphaltech was announced the winner of this year’s Industry Leadership Award.

Puma Bitumen, Main Roads WA, SAMI Bitumen Technologies and Protech were sponsors for this year’s AfPA 2021 WA State Industry Awards, with Tyrecycle sponsoring the gala dinner.

After the completion of the 2021 awards, the next nomination period for this award will be for 2021-2022 with awards presented in 2023.

To nominate for next year’s Awards, click here.

Related stories:

Interesting? Share this article