Events, Industry News, Latest News

Winners wrap up: Women in Industry Awards

Women in Industry awards

The Women in Industry Awards have recognised outstanding women from various industrial sectors, such as mining, transport, manufacturing, engineering, logistics, bulk handling, waste management, rail and construction and infrastructure.

Hundreds gathered at Aerial on South Wharf in Melbourne to celebrate the women who work tirelessly to advance the mining, engineering, road transport, logistics, rail, bulk handling, infrastructure, and waste management industries.

Giselle Phillips from Fredon Queensland took out both the Woman of the Year (sponsored by Fulton Hogan) and the Safety Advocacy Award (sponsored by Komatsu). The latter seeks to recognise an individual working actively to improve safety for their industry.

“This acknowledges the dedication and passion I’ve put into my work as a safety professional,” Phillips said. “In my role at Fredon, I have taken almost every woman on their journey. I’ve advocated for them. I have put them up for submissions. I’ve interviewed them. I have listened to them, and we are all in the same boat. We are not in competition with each other. We need to advocate and help each other get where we need to be.”

Five of the eleven awards presented on the night went to women based in Queensland, with Phillips picking up two awards for the state.

Elsa Antunes from James Cook University (JCU) won the Excellence in Engineering Award, sponsored by SEW-Eurodrive. As a Senior Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering, she’s established a career in the materials science and chemical engineering sector. Her leadership across research projects at JCU showed that she should be recognised as someone who has demonstrated leadership in engineering, technological excellence, and innovation.

Continuing the theme of academic excellence among women in industry, Ashara Moore from BHP won the Excellence in Mining Award, sponsored by Weir Minerals Australia. Moore has a technical background in Geotechnical, Civil Earthworks and Environmental studies.

Teagan Dowler, the Director and Founder of The BCW, won the Mentor of the Year Award. Her willingness to be a leader who provides practical advice and support saw her colleagues at STS Consulting Australia nominate her for the award.

“I want to thank every single person who has believed in the work that we do to support women in our industry, particularly in the personal development and mentoring space. I want to give a special shoutout to all the other finalists because your work is so impactful in creating change in the industry,” Dowler said.


Full list of 2023 winners:

  • Stefanie Frawley (TMX Global) – Business Development Success of the Year
  • Trudy Grimshaw (Department of Finance, Western Australia) – Excellence in Construction
  • Elsa Antunes (James Cook University) – Excellence in Engineering
  • Kristi Riordan (Harvest B) – Excellence in Manufacturing
  • Ashara Moore (BHP) – Excellence in Mining
  • Coralie Chapman (Humes Concrete Products) – Excellence in Transport
  • Jemma Walshe (Fulton Hogan) – Industry Advocacy Award
  • Teagan Dowler (The BCW) – Mentor of the Year
  • Sophia Kurianski (Jinolo) – Rising Star of the Year
  • Giselle Phillips (Fredon QLD) – Safety Advocacy Award
  • Giselle Phillips (Fredon QLD) – Woman of the Year


Send this to a friend