Women in Industry 2020 winners announced

Laing O’Rourke and the National Association of Women in Construction have partnered to empower women in the construction industry with the 2018 NSW NAWIC Mentoring Program.The Women in Industry Awards, like many others, has been held online in 2020. As always the awards look to celebrate the outstanding success and industry work women do in traditionally male-dominated industrial markets.

This year the all female judging panel included:

  • Kelly Godeau, Director Corporate Affairs – Advanced Manufacturing Growth Centre
  • Kylie Fahey, Chief Executive Officer – Institute of Quarrying Australia
  • Christine Gibbs-Stewart, Chief Executive Officer – Austmine
  • Melissa Donald, Board Director – National Association of Women in Operations
  • Angela Gaylard, Head of Operations – Tradeswomen Australia Foundation
  • Hayley Rohrlach, Chair – National Committee for Women in Engineering
  • Denis Robertson, Founder – Roadmaster Haulage


After much deliberation the judges have chosen the Women in Industry Award winners for 2020.

The 2020 Women in Industry awards winners are as follows:

Social Leader of the Year: Jackie Lewis-Gray – BAE Systems Australia

Rising Star of the Year: Alicia Heskett – Shell Australia (QGC)

Business Development Success of the Year: Rachael Ashfield – ifm efector

Industry Advocacy Award: Rose Read – National Waste & Recycling Industry Council

Safety Advocacy Award: Nadine Youssef – Sydney Trains

Mentor of the Year: Dayle Stevens – AGL Energy

Excellence in Manufacturing: Rochelle Avinu – Leica Biosystems

Excellence in Mining: Sarah Withell – Whitehaven Coal Limited

Excellence in Engineering: Elizabeth Taylor – RedR International

Excellence in Transport: Melissa Strong – Lindsay Australia Limited


We know many people are working remotely, for a free home subscription to Roads & Infrastructure click here.

Related stories:

Interesting? Share this article